Christian County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Christian County

Christian County is named for Christian County in Kentucky as many of the inhabitants came from that county.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Sangamon County and Macon County

E – Macon County and Shelby County

S – Shelby County and Montgomery County

W – Montgomery County and Sangamon County


Created:  February 15, 1839                                                      Map of Illinois highlighting Christian County

County Seat:

Taylorville  1839 – present


County Courthouse – Taylorville


Location:  101 South Main Street / West Main Cross Street

Built:  1901 – 1902

Style:  Romanesque Revival

Architect:  J W Caddis

Contractor:  V Jobst & Son


Description: The building faces  east and is a three story gray colored limestone structure. The east front has a projecting center section with entrance on the first story and large arched window on the second story. The third story has arched windows with peaked roof above. There are north and south wings. On the center of the roof rises a high square clock tower with peaked green colored roof.


See:  National Register of Historic Place – Taylorville Courthouse Square Historic District


Note:  The old 1840 court building is located at the Historical Society at 325 Abe’s Way.


History:  The county was created in 1839 and Taylorville was selected as the county seat. The first court met in the home of Horatio W Vandeveer in 1839. The first courthouse was a frame structure built in 1840. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1901 to 1902 at a cost of $100,000.




County Courthouse – Taylorville













Statue Abraham Lincoln










Photos taken 2008