Brown County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Brown County

Brown County is named for Jacob Brown, who was a soldier in the War of 1812, and later became the commanding general of the United States Army.

Created:  February 1, 1839

County Seat:

Mount Sterling  1839 – present


County Courthouse – Mount Sterling


Location:  200 Court Street / North Capitol Avenue

Built:  1866 – 1868

Style:  Neo-Classical

Architect:  David House

Contractor:  Thomas Jones


Description: The building faces south and is a two story reddish colored brick structure. The south front has a high portico supported by four large columns with the pediment at roof level. The windows are arched and a white colored cornice follows the roof line. The building was remodeled 1939 to 1942 after a fire. The architect was Raymond G Johnson of Jacksonville and the contractor was Smirl and Gibson of Jacksonville.



N – Schuyler County

E – Cass County and Morgan County

S – Pike County

W – Adams County 










Photos taken 2007 and 2012