Adams County

US States / H-L / Illinois / Adams County

Adams County is named for John Quincy Adams, who was United States Secretary of State and a United States Representative.


Created:  January 13, 1825

County Seat:

Quincy  1825 – present


County Courthouse – Quincy


Location:  521 Vermont Street / North 6th Street

Built:  1949 – 1950

Style:  Modern

Architect:  Holabird, Root and Burgee and Hafner and Hafner

Contractor:  L & R Construction Company


Description: The building faces south and is a three story reddish-orange colored brick structure. The long rectangular building has entrances at the east and west sides of the south front. The first story has white stone facing. The windows are small. There are several roof line levels and the roof line is flat. The building was renovated from 1994 to 1997. The architect was Peopping, Stone, Bach & Associates and the contractor for each phase was Johnco Construction, Watekatte Construction, R L Brink Company and A Fischer Builders.



N – Hancock County

E – Schuyler County, Brown County and Pike County

S – Pike County

W – Marion County, Missouri and Lewis County, Missouri










Photos taken 2007 and 2012