Washington County

US States / H-L / Idaho / Washington County

Washington County is named for George Washington, who was the first President of the United States from 1789 to 1797.


Created:  February 20, 1879

County Seat: 

Weiser  1879 – present


County Courthouse –  Weiser 


Location:  256 East Court Street / 3rd Street

Built:  1939 – 1940

Style:  Art Dec

Architect:  Tourtellotte & Hummel of Boise

Contractor:  J F Ulmer


Description:  The building  faces south and is a two story gray colored stone and glass structure. The entrance is at the center of the south front and is recessed. Above are three large windows with narrow windows on each side of the projecting center section. The other windows are separated by wide dividers. The building was constructed by the Work Projects Administration.


Note:  The previous courthouse was designed by King and built in 1888.



N – Adams County

E – Adams County and Gem County

S – Payette County

W – Malheur County, Oregon and Baker County, Oregon











Photos taken 2009