Teton County

US States / H-L / Idaho / Teton County

Teton County is named for the Grand Teton Range, which named for the French word “teton” meaning “beast”.


Created:  January 26, 1915

County Seat: 

Driggs  1915 – present


Old County Courthouse – Driggs 


Location:  89 North Main Street / Wallace Avenue

Built:  1924 – 1925

Style:  Prairie School and Classical Revival

Architect:  C A Sundberg

Contractor:  Charles Zollinger


Description:  The building  faces west and is a two story red colored brick and stone structure. The west front has a central recessed entrance which is trimmed with stone. The center section projects slightly from the main building. There is a horizontal band below the roof line and there is trim on the corners. The roof line is flat.


County Courthouse – Driggs 




Location:  150 Courthouse Drive

Built:  2008 – 2009

Style: Modern

Architect:  Plan One Architects of Driggs

Contractor:  Headwaters Construction of Victor


Description:  The building faces north and is a two story red colored brick, stone and concrete structure. The building is two blocks west of the old courthouse. The north front has a projecting center section with a recessed center having four columns rising to a wide header and recessed entrance. Above the second story windows is wide cornice. The roof line is flat and the building is surrounded by landscaped grounds.



N – Fremont County

E – Teton County, Wyoming 

S – Bonneville County

W – Madison County
















Photos taken 2011 and 2012