Lemhi County

US States / H-L / Idaho / Lemhi County

Lemhi County is named for Fort Lemhi ( Limhi ), which was a remote Mormon missionary settlement from 1855 to 1858 in Bannock and Shoshone territory.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Ravalli County, Montana 

E – Beaverhead County, Montana and Clark County

S – Clark County and Custer County

W – Valley County and Idaho County


Created:  January 9, 1869                                                          Map of Idaho highlighting Lemhi County

County Seat: 

Salmon  1869 – present


County Courthouse – Salmon 


Location:  206 Courthouse Drive / Lombard Street

Built:  1909 – 1910

Style:  Classical Revival

Architect:  C C Rittenhouse of Los Angles, California

Contractor:  W W Schults


Description:  The building  faces northeast and is a two story red colored brick and concrete structure. The square shaped building sits on a landscaped hill in the center of Salmon and the northeast front has four tall columns rising to the top of second story with a header above. Rusticated stone trim compliments the brick. The first story entrance is framed with stone. At the roof line is a third story dormer with a Statue of Justice on the top by George Oxham of Ogden, Utah. The building houses the County District Court and County Magistrate Court of the 7th Judicial District.  All the stone employed came from the Shoup quarry on Mud creek nearby.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Lemhi County Courthouse


See:  The 7th Judicial District includes Bingham CountyBonneville CountyButte CountyClark CountyCuster CountyFremont CountyJefferson County, Madison County and Teton County.


History: The county was created in 1869 and Salmon was selected as the county seat in 1869. The county used rented premises. In 1901, the county occupied the second story of the McNutt Building which is still standing at 301 Main Street and South Terrace Street. The present courthouse was constructed in 1909 to 1910.




County Courthouse – Salmon













Picture County Courthouse contactor W W Schults













Photos taken 2009