Gem County

US States / H-L / Idaho / Gem County

Gem County is named for the nickname of Idaho, the “Gem State”, and the fruit growers called the valley “Gem of Plenty”.


Surrounding County Courthouses: 

N – Adams County

E – Valley County and Boise County

S – Ada County and Canyon County

W – Payette County and Washington County


Created:  March 15, 1915                                                           Map of Idaho highlighting Gem County

County Seat: 

Emmett  1915 – present


County Courthouse – Emmett 


Location:  415 East Main Street / South McKinley Avenue

Built:  1938 – 1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:   Frank Hummel of Tourtellotte and Hummel of Boise

Contractor:  David Richardson of Caldwell


Description:  The building  faces north and is a two story gray colored stone, concrete and glass structure. The rectangular shaped building is located on landscaped grounds in the center of Emmett. The center section projects from the main building and rises above the roof line. The entrance is recessed with a recessed window above on the second story. Vertical dividers separate the windows. The roof line is flat. The courtroom is located on the second story. The building houses the County District Court and County Magistrate Court of the 3rd Judicial District. The building was constructed as a Works Project Administration. 


See:  The architect, Tourtellotte & Hummel of Boise also designed courthouses in Owyhee County and Washington County.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Gem County Courthouse


See:  The 3rd Judicial District includes Adams CountyCanyon CountyOwyhee CountyPayette County and Washington County.


History:  The county was created in 1915 and Emmett was selected as the county seat. The first courthouse was a frame structure which burned in 1920. The county rented premises. The second and present courthouse was constructed in 1938 to 1939 at a cost of $66,276.




County Courthouse – Emmett










Photos taken 2009