Fremont County

US States / H-L / Idaho / Fremont County

Fremont County is named for John C Fremont, who was an explorer of the America West.


Created:  March 4, 1893

County Seat: 

St. Anthony  1893 – present


County Courthouse – St. Anthony 


Location:  151 West 1st Street North / North 1st Street West

Built:  1909 – 1910

Style:  Neo-Classical Revival

Architect:  Wayland & Fennell of Boise

Contractor:  Perham & Harris of St. Anthony


Description:  The building  faces south and is a two story rectangular red colored brick structure. The south front has a projecting center section with recessed entrance flanked by two columns on either side rising to a wide header at the roof line. Rhe windows have terra cotta sills, with the second story windows bracketed. On the center of the roof is a wide white colored dome. There are eat and west wings..


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Fremont County Courthouse



N – Beaverhead County, Montana, Madison County, Montana and Gallatin County, Montana

E – Park County, Wyoming and Teton County, Wyoming 

S – Teton County, Madison County and Jefferson County

W – Jefferson County and Clark County

















Photos taken 2011