Franklin County

US States / H-L / Idaho / Franklin County

Franklin County is named for Franklin D Richards, who was an early Later Day Saints Church apostle.


Created:  January 20, 1913

County Seat: 

Preston  1913 – present


County Courthouse – Preston 


Location:  39 West Oneida Street / State Street

Built:  1936 – 1939

Style:  Art Deco

Architect:  Hyrun C Pope

Contractor:  O E Millard of Logan, Utah and Isakson & Morrin of Ogden, Utah


Description:  The building  faces north and is a three story white colored veneer of paint and sand rectangular structure. The north front has eleven bays with vertical dividers with windows between. Windows on the west and east sides are set behind concrete grillwork. The roof line is flat. The building was constructed as a Public Works Administration project. W F Thomas supervised the construction.


See:  National Register of Historic Places – Franklin County Courthouse



N – Bannock County and Caribou County

E – Bear Lake County

S – Cache County, Utah

W – Oneida County













Photos taken 2011